SHIP Honors Outgoing Board Members

Posted .


Three SHIP Board members have reached the end of their second and final three-year term on the SHIP Board of Directors. The Board members were honored with commemorative plaques at the SHIP Board meeting on Friday, June 16th, 2017.
Dr. Michael McTaggart, a retired Sioux City Community School District principal, and current Sioux City Community School District Board member,  helped to form the SHIP Administrative Services Board in 2010 and was appointed the Board Chair of that organization. When SHIP Administrative Services was dissolved back into the original SHIP organization in 2014, Dr. McTaggart transitioned to the SHIP Board of Directors. Along with former SHIP Board Chair Roger Hess, he was a key support and mentor to SHIP’s Executive Director. 
Cindi Prather joined the SHIP Board in 2011 as one of its first Ida County representatives – as the Early Childhood Iowa Board for Woodbury County, SHIP merged with Ida County Early Childhood in 2011. SHIP’s bylaws were changed to require at least two Board members representing Ida County to be on the Board at all times. Despite having to drive nearly 115 miles round-trip for monthly SHIP Board meetings, Prather only missed 1-2 meetings in her six years on the Board. She served as SHIP’s Board Chair from 2014-2016.
Dewey Sloan, former Woodbury County Assistant County Attorney, was originally recruited to serve on the SHIP Administrative Services Board in 2010. Along with Dr. McTaggart, he moved from that Board to the SHIP Board of Directors when SHIP-AS was folded back into the larger organization. Sloan’s expertise in legal matters and juvenile justice made him an asset to Board.SHIP is fortunate to have benefited from the time, dedication and expertise of these three incredible individuals. We wish them well in their future endeavors!

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>