Education and Community Awareness

This subgroup will provide public relations and communication efforts related to other subgroups needs. Action ideas discussed, include Alcohol Sales Business Accountability, Education/Community Public Relations to include the best ways to collect funds for those in need, and Culturally Specific Education.

Education and Community Awareness Committee: 

Jennifer Rose Bass, C21 Prolink
P.J. Jennings, Woodbury County
Scott Knutson, Hard Rock Casino
Deb Lang, Sioux City Orpheum Theatre
Susan McGuire, Center for Siouxland
Michael O’Connor, Ponca Tribe of Nebraska
Betsy Thompson, Sioux City Library
Anne Westra, City of Sioux City
Ragen Cote, Downtown Partners (Facilitator)


The goal of this committee is to research how to most effectively approach the homelessness issue through researching other locations and how they deal with the homeless population, reviewing and developing questionnaires and surveys and analyzing some of the specific needs of the homeless and the effects on the Sioux City community. 

Research Committee: 

Julia Kleinschmit, University of Iowa (Committee Chair) 
Sara Doyle (Sioux City Library)
David Eberbach (Institute for Community Alliances)
Jen Gomez (Sioux City Community School District) 
Mary Jordan (Department of Veteran Affairs)
Ehren Stover-Wright (Institute for Community Alliances)
Matt Ohman, SHIP (Facilitator)

Screening and Intake / Organizational Reporting & Retooling

NOTE: The Screening and Intake and Organizational Reporting & Retooling committees, previously two separate committees, have merged as of 10/1/16.

The goal of this committee is to use the Warming Shelter and police screening to help referrals to agencies collaborating with local solutions and to create a centralized intake/”community response” system and collect data at contact points, such as the ER, shelter, and Police Department.

Screening and Intake Committee / Organizational Reporting & Retooling Committee

Richard Closter, Department of Human Services (Chair) 
Katie Colling, Women Aware (Co-Chair)
Jim Anderson, The Warming Shelter
Terrie Binneboese, United Way of Siouxland
Darin Daby, US Bank
Diane Daby, Springboard Coworking / Hope Spring Church
Martin Dougherty, City of Sioux City
Jen Gomez, Sioux City Community School District
Kevin Grieme, Siouxland District Health Department
Kerri Hall, SHIP
Jennifer Jackson, Heartland Counseling
Pastor Paul Johnston, Trinity Lutheran Church / The Micah Project
Pastor Lil Johnston, The Micah Project
Bob Scott, Mayor of City of Sioux City
Ehren Stover-Wright, Institute for Community Alliances
Lori Twohig, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Siouxland
Jill Wanderscheid, City of Sioux City
Erica Worrell, Siouxland Mental Health
Jonathan Young, New Life Community Church
Captain Lisa Claeys, Sioux City Police Department (Facilitator)

Reporting & Retooling – June 14, 2016 Meeting Minutes